Automatic Mutual Recognition (AMR)

AMR is expected to commence for the majority of occupational licences administered by CBOS on July 1 2022.

Read more about automatic mutual recognition for occupational licences


Automatic mutual recognition for occupational licences

​​​If you are licensed and/or registered to perform your job, you will soon be able to work across states and territories without needing to:

  • apply; or
  • pay a fee for a second licence.

The automatic mutual recognition (AMR) scheme allows you to use your current licence or registration to do the same activities in another part of Australia.

AMR began rolling out in Tasmania on 22 December 2021

AMR is available in Tasmania for a limited number of occupations and Victoria, New South Wales, South Australia, the Northern Territory, and the Australian Capital Territory (the participating states).

Currently, the scheme is only available for a limited number of occupations across participating states and territories.

It is anticipated that AMR will be in place for more occupations in other participating jurisdictions after 1 July 2022.

This page will be updated as other jurisdictions join the AMR scheme and when AMR applies to more occupations in Tasmania.

Working in other states and territories

Skilled workers from Tasmania can practice interstate for certain occupations. Please note that AMR only applies to natural persons not entities.

Remember to check the jurisdiction's website for notification, consumer protection and insurance requirements prior to commencing work in that state or territory:

Western Australia will be joining the scheme on 1 July 2022 and there is no commencement date set yet for Queensland.

The table below outlines the status of AMR for different licence types across jurisdictions as at 15 June 2022:

 VictoriaNew South WalesSouth AustraliaAustralian Capital TerritoryNorthern Territory
Building surveyorsNot yet commenced Not yet commencedNot yet commenced Not yet commencedNot yet commenced
BuildersCommencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
PlumbersNot yet commencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
Electrical workersCommencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
Gas-fittersNot yet commencedNot yet commencedNot yet commencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
ArchitectsCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commenced
ConveyancersCommencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
Property agentsCommencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
Motor vehicle tradersCommencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedNot yet commenced
EngineersCommencedNot yet commenced  Not yet commenced
Security and investigation agentsNot yet commencedNot yet commencedCommencedNot yet commencedCommenced

Working in Tasmania

While the AMR scheme has commenced in Tasmania, some registrations are temporarily exempted from its application until 30 June 2022. The temporarily exempted registrations include:

  • Building and construction (including builders, electricians, plumbers, gas-fitters, designers of building work including architects and engineers) and building surveyors; and these occupations:
  • Motor Vehicle Traders
  • Conveyancers
  • Security Agents
  • Property Agents.

This means if you hold a licence or registration in another jurisdiction for the above occupational activity, you are unable to work under AMR in Tasmania at this time.

However, you may still apply under the mutual recognition process, which remains unchanged.​

​What you need to do

To practice across the participating states and territories, you must be registered in your home state or territory to undertake the activities you intend to carry out in a second state or territory.

Depending on your occupation, you may need to meet additional requirements. You may need to:

  • notify the relevant authority of your intent to practice;
  • meet and maintain financial public protection requirements (such as insurance, fidelity funds, trust accounts, minimum financial requirements); and/or
  • satisfy and maintain a working with vulnerable people character test.

You must comply with the laws of the state or territory where you are working.

If you do not comply with state or territory laws or licence conditions, your entitlement to work interstate under the AMR scheme can be suspended or cancelled. Your home state or territory licence or registration can also be suspended or cancelled.


You can't take part if in this scheme if you:​

  • are disqualified or suspended from carrying on the occupation or have been refused a licence for that occupation;
  • subject to disciplinary, civil or criminal action or know they are under investigation; or
  • have conditions placed on your substantive licence as a result of disciplinary or court action.​

Related links

Department of Prime Minister and Cabinet - Improving occupational mobility

Mutual recognition for interstate and New Zealand applicants

Updated: 27 Jun 2022

This page has been produced and published by the Consumer Building and Occupational Services Division of the Department of Justice. Although every care has been taken in production, no responsibility is accepted for the accuracy, completeness, or relevance to the user's purpose of the information. Those using it for whatever purpose are advised to verify it with the relevant government department, local government body or other source and to obtain any appropriate professional advice. The Crown, its officers, employees and agents do not accept liability however arising, including liability for negligence, for any loss resulting from the use of or reliance upon the information and/or reliance on its availability at any time.